Review / Wine

Aldi The Exquisite Collection Rias Baixas Albarino 2015

I’m a big fan of Aldi’s Exquisite Collection wines. They’re all reasonably priced, and the ones I’ve tried have been pretty good.

I bought this Rias Baixas Albarino months ago, put it in my wine rack, and had forgotten all about it – until last night. The Albarino grape is most commonly grown in Spain, although it is also grown in Portugal (Known there as Alvarinho) and is used in Vinho Verde, which I tried for the first time a few weeks ago.

wp-1478300975876.jpg

A refreshing treat I enjoyed at Halloween

In the glass, it is a very pale yellow, and has peach and floral notes, with some citrus.

After tasting, I can see why it was thought to be a clone of Riesling by the locals who made it; it is very crisp and juicy because of its high acidity. The lemon and lime flavours really come through, along with pear.

If only I had tried it earlier in the year, as it would be a perfect glass to sip in the summer sunshine!

Leave a Reply

