Review / White Wine / Wine

It’s the weekend; time for pizza and wine!

A stressful week at work has come to an end. It can only mean one thing…time to open a bottle of wine.

Brancott Estate Sauvignon Blanc

Pizza and wine: a perfect start to the weekend!

After picking up a massive 14″ meat feast pizza, next on the shopping list was a bottle of wine. I’d previously enjoyed Brancott Estate’s Terroir Series Sauvignon Blanc so when I spotted their less expensive 2016 Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc on offer for a bargain £6 (usually sells at around £9) it went straight in the basket.

As a complete novice when it comes to pairing wine and food, I usually just pick up whatever takes my fancy but I was surprised to read on the back of the bottle:

“Enjoy this wine on its own or with fresh fish, spicy dishes or cheese.”

By complete luck, I’d picked a perfect pairing, although the spicy mince on a pizza probably wasn’t what New Zealand’s Brancott Estate meant when they suggested enjoying the vibrant tropical and citrus fruit flavours and herbal highlights of this delicious wine with “spicy dishes or cheese”.

A new favorite of mine and one I’d definitely recommend. After falling asleep on the sofa last night having had only half the bottle, I know what I’ll be drinking tonight! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

