Review / Rosé Wine / Sparkling Wine / White Wine / Wine

Two Whites And A Rosé

Last weekend, I discovered that I have a lucky wine! On Friday evening, I took a bottle of Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference Verdicchio Dei Castelli Di Jesi (A bit of a mouthful I know!) to a friend’s house to play poker, and I managed to depart victorious.

The last time I tried this wine, it was recommended to me by Olly Smith to pair with grilled sea bass and ratatouille, when I took part in a Come Dine With Me with friends, which was also successful.

Verdicchio is one of the most widely planted white grapes in the Marches region of Central Italy. It has citrus flavours, with juicy acidity, and should be more popular. I find it more flavourful than the often bland Pinot Grigio. Unlike the last time I tried this, it seemed to have a slight spritz to it, which may have been a fault, although fortunately the flavours still hit the spot!

plazapink

Pink bubbles!

On Saturday evening, we shared a bottle of the ever reliable Lindemans Bin 65 Chardonnay. Another wine I’ve bought before, this Chardonnay is bright and full of flavours like apple and peach, with a hint of oak.

Last up was a sparkling rosé I received from a supplier at work at Christmas. Plaza Pink is from the Veneto region of Italy, and is nice and fruity, with a good amount of fizz. It’s not a wine I’d rush out to buy again, but it would be a pleasant sip for a summer garden party.

Now to decide on a nice wine to spend my winnings on. Any recommendations? Cheers!

Leave a Reply

