General / Review / White Wine / Wine

Michelin Star Dining – Lunch At The Peat Inn

Having a week off work, I decided I’d spend my recent poker prize money on lunch at a local Michelin Star restaurant, The Peat Inn, near Cupar, Fife. The weather wasn’t pleasant, but on arrival, things brightened up with some appetisers (See photo) of venison sausage rolls, and goats cheese, before being shown to our table.

peat-inn

Appetisers at The Peat Inn

We decided to go for the menu of the day, a set menu at £22, which seemed good value for a highly regarded restaurant. I was hesitant when I saw veal was the main course, as it doesn’t have the most ethical reputation, and I tend not to eat much meat. I was reassured when I found out they only use British organic veal, which has much higher welfare rules than the European product of years ago. We also received an amuse bouche of pearl barley in a blue cheese sauce, with apple and parsnip crisps, plus sourdough and raisin and poppy seed breads before the advertised three courses. I chose a glass of 2015 French Viognier from the Ventoux region in the Rhone while we awaited the starter. I’m not used to drinking in the middle of the day, but with a quality meal, it had to be done!

The starter was Jerusalem artichoke and salsify velouté, which was crispy, in a deliciously creamy sauce. The medium-full bodied Viognier went well with it, creamy and peachy.

I’d never tried veal before, but it was a pleasant surprise. The meat was mouthwateringly tender, and came apart without the need for a knife. It came with a smooth, creamy and smoky potato puree, and combined with parsnip puree and wild mushrooms around the plate, it was a work of art. A light red wine like a Pinot Noir would have been perfect with this, but I had to drive later in the evening.

I have a sweet tooth, so I was very much looking forward to the dessert, which didn’t disappoint. The White Chocolate delice, with candied pineapple, glazed meringue, and pineapple sorbet was heavenly, and together, made for a treat better than the sum of its parts! I saw that they had a Châteaux d’Yquemon their fine wine list, but as it was more expensive for one glass than the rest of the meal cost, I unfortunately decided to give it a miss.

The service throughout was superb and welcoming without being intrusive. Every part of the meal was described when it was brought to the table. If you thought Michelin Star quality dining was beyond your meals, try going for lunch, which is often much cheaper than dinner, while still providing a luxury service. I’m sure we’ll be back, hopefully after another poker win so I can finally try that Châteaux d’Yquem!

Leave a Reply

