Fortified Wine / Red Wine / Review / Wine

Crabbie’s Mulled Ginger Wine

These days, the Scottish brand Crabbie’s are best known for their alcoholic and non-alcoholic ginger beers. Historically, the company founded in 1801, have been involved with a variety of drinks including green ginger wine, gin rectifying, and fruit-based cordials. Yum!

crabbies-ginger-wine

Retrieved from the dark depths of my wine cupboard

I don’t mind the taste of ginger, but I wouldn’t go as far as saying I’m a fan. When I received this bottle as a gift a few Christmases ago, I put it in my wine rack, and soon forgot all about it. I was concerned that it may have been past its best, but after trying it, I’m glad I didn’t pour it down the drain!

Crabbie’s Mulled Ginger Wine is a blend of British ruby wine, combined with ginger, spices, and citrus fruits. The label suggests that it can be drunk warm or cold, so I decided to try both. While cold, the aromas aren’t too strong, but it has juicy red fruit flavours, and the amount of ginger and spices are enough to give extra taste, but without being too strong. It’s a full bodied wine, and I could feel the warm of the spices at the back of my throat. I’ve never tried British ruby wine before, but it did remind me of a ruby Port. When warmed, I took a sniff, and the fruit, ginger and spice aromas assaulted my nasal passages! They were much stronger, and the taste was more like a traditional warm mulled wine. I could feel the viscosity coating the inside of my mouth.

After trying this, I think I’ll have to get round to buying a bottle of Crabbie’s alcoholic ginger beer to try a cocktail that has been recommended to me: the Dark and Stormy!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

