Review / White Wine / Wine

Vignobles Roussellet SB and Dr Loosen Riesling

If I was going to choose my two favourite whites, Sauvignon Blanc and Reisling would be my picks…so that’s what I did this weekend.

DSC_0018

Friday night involved working overtime from home so to make it that little bit less boring (and slightly more unprofessional!) I opened my latest bottle from Aldi Wine Club; a Vignobles Roussellet Sauvignon Blanc. Selling at only £4.49 a bottle, I wasn’t sure what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised. It had what you’d expect from a Sauvignon Blanc; a grassy aroma and gooseberry flavours. I’ve certainly had better, but at that price, it’s hard to complain. Worth a look if you’re after a decent cheap bottle.

Saturday night was a first for me; trying a sweet Riesling. After we finished the leftovers from Friday, David brought a 2015 Dr Loosen Riesling. I really like sweet wines like Sauternes and Moscatel, and love Riesling, so this was a match made in heaven. Really refreshing, not sickly sweet. Looking good in it’s traditional slender bottle with a very understated label, I’m definitely going to buy myself a bottle for the next time I have guests, although at only 8.5% alcohol, we may need to get a second bottle!

After my Vacu Vin Rapid Ice Wine Cooler arrived today (read David’s review here), I’ll be putting it to use when my next deliveries from Aldi Wine Club arrive this week; including their Exquisite Collection Marlborough Sauvingon Blanc (paired with Buffalo Mozzarella).

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

