General / Spirits

World Gin Day

It’s the 10th of June and the sun is shining – it’s World Gin Day! What kind of drinks blogger would I be without drinking some?

Apart from a few Martinis and G&Ts, I haven’t drunk much gin, so now seems like a good time to start. I recently bought vouchers to visit the Eden Mill Distillery near St Andrews, so I’m sure I’ll learn more about it then.

The Gin market is booming in the UK, with small craft distilleries popping up all over the place, and record breaking sales; 2016 saw sales breaking the £1 billion barrier for the first time.

Adnams Copper House Dry Gin

Mixing with tonic water is probably the most popular way to drink gin, and was how I first tried it; however I find some people tend to drown the gin, losing its lovely flavours from the Juniper berries and other aromatic ingredients. I found a 2-1 ratio of a tonic to gin is about right for me, with a quality tonic water such as Fever Tree. When it comes to garnish, I’ve seen a wide variety of additions like orange, lemon, lime, cucumber, and mint leaves.

A Martini cocktail is another classic drink, mixing the gin with a small amount of aromatic Vermouth, such as Noilly Prat. James Bond’s Vesper Martini featured Gordon’s gin with vodka and Kina Lillet (Now called Lillet, which uses a slightly different recipe). The late Sir Roger Moore’s favourite martini uses Tanqueray gin with a slice of lemon rind rubbed around the rim of the glass.

One of the few I’ve tried are Aldi’s Oliver Cromwell London dry gin which is a bargain at £9.99. Today I snapped up a bottle of Adnams Copper House Dry Gin which I saw recommended by Olly Smith. He recommends drinking it on the rocks or with a sprig of mint. I think I know what my plans are tonight! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

